Simple Things That Make Me Smile

6 Dec

I don’t really ever ask for much from anyone, and when I am asked what I want, it takes me forever to come up with a list. Christmas time is exciting, but frustrating for me because it forces me to think of what I need or want. I consider myself blessed not to be able to come up with a list of things for myself. But, there are a few things that would and have already made me happy.

1. Cake! I’ve been mentioning to Romon for months that I REALLY wanted to have some “American” cake. (Cake here in Bolivia is not sweet like in the states). I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money on boxed cake and frosting. Because it is imported, it costs more. My husband brought home some cake and frosting yesterday afternoon. I baked it and we enjoyed some of it together.

It's delicious. I don't want it to finish.

2. Park! Today Romon and I took 17 of the 18 children out for a fun day at the park. I had such a blast watching them have fun. We treated all of the children to fun on a trampoline. They were so excited. They simultaneously wanted me to see them slide down the slide, run around being silly, making a funny face, etc. It made my heart so glad to see that they were having a great time.

Trampoline Fun

3. Flowers! One of the young boys spent some of his time at the park picking flowers. He walked back to the house with them, and when we had a second alone, he looked at me and said, “Tia Melinda, these are for you. They’re dead, but will you take them?” I smiled and told him they were beautiful. He smiled back and off he went to play with the others.

Me, my friend and my beautiful flowers

– I am so blessed to have a great, considerate husband who will think of even the smallest details to bring a smile to my face.

– I am blessed to have 18 children to remind me of how simple life can be and how special memories are  made at any moment.

-I am blessed to have a child think of me enough to pick  flowers when all of the others are enjoying fun at the park.

It’s the simple things that makes this girl SMILE!

-Melinda

One Response to “Simple Things That Make Me Smile”

  1. @ngie December 7, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    So glad you are able to be happy, Melinda. This is a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

